The Way I See Things

By JDO

Concentration

This female Melanostoma scalare refused to be interrupted in the middle of her meal by some idiot sticking a camera and a light in her face, and carried on doggedly browsing the dogwood.

A woman after my own heart.

Today wasn't really a day for macro photography, being both dark and windy, which is why I was compelled in the end to break out the Lumimuse. Even so, this being one of the darkest corners of the wild garden, the ISO is too high for comfort - but given the way the shrub was moving, I am reasonably pleased with the focus. This works as a kind of companion piece to the image I blipped ten days ago of a male M. scalare, and shows the difference in body shape of the sexes.

Tonight R and I watched Long Shot on Netflix for Lockdown Family Film Club. It was a pleasant and undemanding way to spend an evening - which to be honest we'd all earned, after some difficult recent choices - and it would be ridiculous to complain that the ending was unrealistic, so I won't. I don't find Seth Rogen as charming as the rest of the world seems to, but Charlize Theron is very good, and the supporting cast is excellent.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.