My view

Up early to go to the Ministry, there by 8.10. The waiting area outside was a little different. With a little help from translate security told me it was closed because not many can get to work due to lockdown.. I texted M, my former manager (who’s now finished too). She called, just wait she said, I’ll call the GM, he was my student. She was a teacher too. Someone will call she said. They did, I was let in. This man had studied in Adelaide in the 90’s. Small world. It’s a criminal case he said, you shouldn’t have been working. He called an assistant manager and they took me to see someone who listened to my case. He called the owner who refused to pay. We went back to the first person I met. More conversations in Arabic. It’s apparent they know the owner. My case was then documented in Arabic and I signed it. I couldn’t get a copy. I was encouraged to ask for more given the airport isn’t open. We went back to the first person, we’ll be in touch he said. We’ll call him again tomorrow. I’m not optimistic but I’m pleased I’ve reported him.
I left after nearly three hours. Tired! A quick shop, it was busy unfortunately. Because of lockdown people can’t get to work.
I messaged my colleague who finished working when I did. He’s still waiting for money too. Fortunately he’d managed to fly home that day, now in quarantine. He’ll finally meet his first child.
A couple of agents have been in touch about governess work. Keeping my options open. Hopefully my tourist visa can be renewed, but there may be a charter flight soon too.
The staff were generous with my entree - a few too many potato wedges! Well looked after.. but they’re all away from home too.. not easy.
Now we wait..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.