Smug

I've got a cold. Nothing special about that. Or at least if it was 2019 I wouldn't be thinking much of it. But this is 2020, the year when normal took on a new meaning. 
It's probably a summer cold, most likely Rhinovirus, although there is the possibility that it is Coronavirus. No sensationalism intended, winter colds in particular are caused by Common Human Coronavirus. It is not Covid19. Most people at some point get infected by the Common Human Coronavirus. That is not my concern. My concern is the word infected. I'm retired so don't have to go to work. I am not a big shopper and go prepared with hand gel etc when I buy the necessities required. My recreation entails a solitary walk over the fields stopping occasionally to chat to other walkers from a decent social distance. If I handle any post we receive I always wash my hands afterwards, in fact I am slightly concerned about my water usage and hope all this hand washing isn't contributing to future droughts. Generally I am avoiding most contact with other humans apart from my wife (and she's usually away down the bottom of the garden, avoiding me ;-) ). 
And yet I have picked up a virus. A gentle warning. Don't be too smug.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.