KatesGardenPDX

By KatesGardenPDX

Monday Again

And we're now past midway in the term....well past. Had a terrific zoom meeting with my class out in the garden this morning. They'd never seen the front perennial garden (only the back) so we went looking at the plants we're studying this week. I'm so grateful for those students that come to the not-required zoom meetings because I can see their faces and listen to them and get a small sense of how they're doing in the remote class. The other 8 or so...no idea at all. It's so weird. It's been a very long summer.

I played a fun round of golf this morning and tried out some new clubs which will eventually replace my driver, 3 wood and 4 hybrid. I think they're going to be great but it will take some practice. It was another absolutely gorgeous day - our typical summer weather pattern now. Blue, clear skies, low humidity, high 82 F/28 C and a low tonight of 56 F/13 C. Perfect!

The garden is looking like it needs my attention - it won't take much to whip it back into shape with some deadheading and weeding. I just need a cool morning to do it when I'm not teaching. But the pollinators were out in droves this afternoon - I don't think I've ever seen so many bees! I caught a couple of bees on this Echinacea purpurea - I think the cultivar is 'Kismet White'. Terra Nova Nurseries here in Oregon does extensive echinacea breeding (and a lot of other plants too) so we often have access to some pretty interesting Echinaceas. Here's a link to their website if you're interested.

Hope you all had a lovely start to your week!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.