Folkie Booknerd

By Folkiebooknerd

Jill

I met up with my friend Jill for a long lunch at Lovelock’s today, to say “Bon voyage” to her as she’s flying out to Boston, Massachusetts on Wednesday, and thence to rural Vermont, where she’ll be visiting her family for a few weeks (observing all appropriate self-isolation guidelines, of course!).

It’s a big journey to undertake, in all kinds of ways, in these uncertain times - but I know how hard it’s been for Jill to be so far from her folks throughout lockdown. She’s an academic, so the summer is the perfect time for her to spend a few student-free weeks away, although I know she’ll be doing some work whilst she’s gone. 

She’s been one of the handful of people who’ve really helped me get through these last few months and I’m going to miss her whilst she’s away, but with online communication being what it is these days it probably won’t really feel very different! 

I wish her a safe and healthy journey. 

Today’s song is ‘Moonlight on Vermont’ by Captain Beefheart www.youtube.com/watch?v=NZFG1yAxjdQ

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.