Doe, a Deer, a Female Deer

A game trail runs through our woods, and we frequently see deer on it. Sometimes a doe with two fawns, sometimes a buck in velvet, sometimes just one doe. There is also a doe who spends the hottest days under our deck, relaxing in the shade, and we do our best not to startle her. (Yes, I know, we're good hosts!)

At the start of summer, I planted some new plants in two places: one, in the new butterfly garden I made in honor of my sister, and two, near the middle of the meadow. Well, not much of any of that has come up, and the sad news is that some of what little came up in the meadow garden has been nibbled on . . . by deer!

My husband and I were in the master bedroom for the evening, watching episodes of Criminal Minds. Yes, binge-watching old TV shows is a thing! And then my husband looked out the window to see a doe nibbling her way through the area of the meadow where I had planted stuff.

He insisted I go out and chase her off. But I am a failure as a gardener, I guess: I don't want to chase ANYTHING. So I grabbed my camera on the way out the front door, thinking that at least I might get a few photos.

When I got to the backyard, the doe had already moved along and so no chasing was needed. Instead, I stood and admired her and took a couple of photos. And so it was that we shared a few quiet moments together, as the light began to fade, and day turned toward dusk.

My soundtrack song is this one: Julie Andrews and the crew with Do-Re-Mi, from The Sound of Music.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.