Mantis on Mandarin

I have always loved praying mantises partly because they are most cooperative about sitting still and posing patiently. However, this might have something to do with the fact that they are predatory 'stealth fighters'

Despite their classic praying pose they could just as easily be called preying  mantises. John came to get me when he spotted this green praying mantis on a citrus tree in front of our house but couldn't find it it again when I followed him. outside. It turns out it hadn't moved at all he was just so well camouflaged on top of an unripe mandarin that he (John)  was looking on the wrong tree! I think it had its eye on the spider web just out of shot but there was nothing in it and I didn't have the patience to wait for something to come by., so I attempted instead to try for a close up rather than documenting the battle.

I feel that the longer we are living in so much uncertainty, the more even the smallest ones can become blown out of proportion. on the irritation scale. I am still waiting to hear from the dermatology clinic on the results of two biopsies that were done almost a month ago. They told me  that it would be two weeks. 

John is still waiting for the guy who took away our old ''invisible' door screens  to come and install the new ones. The flies also seem to be opportunistically poised to get inside in the amount of time it takes to go out the door and shut it behind you. I think all kinds of things seem to be inexplicably delayed these days, I understand that, but a phone call and a progress report would be nice. 

Our solar battery passed inspection today (done via zoom) and as working as required, but the control app on the phone which allows us to see and change what it is doing and whether we are using battery or mains power is still not working. It takes a lot of energy not to get cranky.

Since I'm supposed to be sitting with my leg up , I Idecided to tackle my corrupted software' which was flawlessly transferred in all its corruption from the old computer to the new one, but after I had to keep getting up to get the camera, then the other camera and finally the thingy that I must now plug into the computer because the computer doesn't have an integrated card reading slot, I decided that probably a nap was a better idea....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.