Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Friday already

I had a message this morning to say that Beth was travelling down to Dubai again this Friday and this time, she had an order to handover to me! It's one I placed in April. Things have gotten a bit complicated and the system is not working as it should. Anyway, I was more than happy to meet up with her anywhere she specified.

Our usual Costa 24 hour Drive-in on Al Wasl road was chosen so we drove out after the service(s) and chatted with her for a bit. We then called in at Mercato on the way home. G remembered it was Friday, so made sure I got some flowers in my picture!

It is the 73rd* anniversary of Pakistan's Independence today - I was reminded of it by a flag hanging outside a local business in my area. Of course, we had to have something "local" so we came home with Studen Biryani, which was as delicious as ever. It tastes even better when you haven't had it for a while.

The rest of the day has been relaxed. I enjoyed listening to a couple more CDs whilst G worked in her room. And now, we have just switched the TV off after watching a few episodes of Doc Martin. It's late - nearly 1 am!! Good night!

* No idea why, but a number of articles I have looked up online are calling this the 74th anniversary of independence. The founding year for both countries was definitely 1947. It would appear people can't count anymore! So weird.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.