Hello, Monarch Butterfly!

A heavy thunderstorm rolled through on Monday night right around bedtime, and when I got up in the morning, my milkweed plants were all knocked over. I got some little trellis thingies and some tomato poles and used them to straighten everything back up.

As I did so, I discovered a huge monarch caterpillar, munching away. Then a second. And a third. And a fourth! There are at least four fat cats enjoying the milkweeds now. Hooray! They are beautiful, and I will show you one of my stripey pals tomorrow.

As I was out in the middle of the day, checking on my fat cats, two monarch butterflies flittered by and visited the milkweed plants. The one was too quick for me, but here is a picture of the other one. It seemed like a joyous moment: Hello and welcome, beautiful monarch butterfly!

The song can only be this one, and Dolly Parton is the one who sings it: Love Is Like a Butterfly.

Love is like a butterfly, a rare and gentle thing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.