Home & Away

By HeidiAndDolly

Avebury

I left Broadway today and headed to Avebury in Wiltshire. It’s not directly on the way home but I made a detour so that I could meet up with my friend Vanessa who lives about an hour from Avebury. It seemed a good option for a rendezvous point.

It was another day of rain but it cleared enough for us to have a cup of coffee sitting outside at the National Trust coffee shop. Until it started raining again! We stayed mostly dry sitting under our very large umbrellas! It was a good thing that before we stopped for coffee we took the time to walk amongst a few of the stones while it was relatively dry.

The village of Avebury sits in what is the largest megalithic stone circle in the world. Avebury is part of a nearby group of Neolithic and Bronze Age ceremonial sites, and together with Stonehenge they make up a World Heritage site.

It wasn’t really a day for exploring. We’ve both been to Avebury before, though it’s been a few years for me. I must come back during better weather!

After spending a couple of hours together we said our goodbyes and each headed home. Driving was horrendous, like driving through a monsoon at times. At one point I had to pull over because I could hardly see. It’s been a crazy week of weather!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.