Kiltwalk 2020

It's the weekend of the virtual Edinburgh Kiltwalk. Instead of walking with thousands of other Kiltwalkers, being cheered on by hundreds of volunteers and pepped up by snacks at various pitstops we had a different experience. Our team walked in various places at various times. About 12 of us followed a route round Stirling which took in three of the loops of the meandering River Forth, Bridge of Allan, the University and other footpaths and roads. We all observed the new restrictions and didn't mix households.

Here are Lyn, Flora and me about two miles in. Just after this jolly photograph the heavens opened and we were drookit. Fortunately it didn't last long and the following 13 miles took place in sunshine. Lyn and I are in the same extended household so we don't have to physically distance.

We are fundraising for Riding for the Disabled which I've written about before. We will make quite a bit as Kiltwalk is supported by businessman Tom Hunter who will add to any funds raised. It's definitely worth doing both financially and for awareness raising.

I'm glad I can put this ridiculous kilt away for another year now. It is not my dress of choice! But we have done a good thing today. I'm off for a long hot bath now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.