Curvy

A dull day weather-wise but I liked the elegant shape of the bottom of this culvert when I was out later in the afternoon to catch the post.

I spent some of the morning playing golf and then the food shop and a browse for a gift for a friend. I did find something - and also a couple of Christmas presents!

The 'quick little extra job' on the boiler was still ongoing when I arrived home at 2:45; apparently our boiler is a fiddle anyway and the fact it's squeezed into a small space made things doubly difficult. An airlock also got into the system, so, basically, all LH's plans for the day went out the window as he helped fiddle.

In my conversation with Dad tonight he's talked about things which I'm sure we've covered at length previously but to him seem novel. I'm getting a bit concerned. Lockdown has made him more introspective which for a fairly unsociable ex-research scientist is not a good thing. His shingles is progressing, thankfully not at all painful as it can be, but he's very tired with it. Even a fairly unexpected visit from a great friend was something he was regarding negatively with a sense of loss and sadness rather than any happiness to have seen him. That is Dad's general world view, but it's hard to hear him saying he thinks he won't travel any distances any more and retreat so thoroughly into his tiny safe space.

I'm now watching the US Open golf. I can dream

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.