Monochrome Railway Line

I always try to do what "Teacha" says (well, sometimes anyway!), and at the last session of John Gravett's Black-and-White workshop last week he recommended that we continue to do lots of practice at monochromes - not only on the technicalities of conversion to mono, but also trying to spot scenes which would do well in B&W.

Having not done so since Monday I thought I'd better make amends, so I took several possible shots on my morning walk, and decided on this for today's blip. The foliage was converted with a green filter, the sky with a red filter and the ground with a blue one.

I wasn't risking my life taking the shot - it's a link line, not the main line: trains are quite rare, are almost always noisy goods trains and never go fast so you can hear them coming with plenty of warning; I just stopped for a moment where the footpath crosses the line at a pedestrian level crossing.

(As usual, especially for monos, it's best viewed large against black.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.