ZIZZI

I had a few reasons why I needed to travel by bus today

1)  I had to give Neil his birthday gift - running shoes delivered here. And his contact lenses - delivered here.

2) I had to pick up a parcel at The Staithes Cafe.  To save delivery charges I chose the option collect from there - this was arranged before our local lockdown rules came into force.

3) I wanted to go for a meal with Neil to Zizzi.  I had a £25 voucher which expires at the end of September. and I didn't want to waste it. I hadn't been able to use it before because due to Covid  Zizzi have been closed since March and only opened a couple of weeks ago. Since then  Neil hasn't had any free time to meet.  But he had a half day today.

Bus travel isn't one of the enforceable rules but its " advisable"  not to travel by bus unless its for work, school, medical etc. However when I checked the small print of the gov advice it did say you could travel by bus if you were visiting someone in your support bubble.  Well ( as I live alone ) Neil is part of my bubble.  So I decided to go on the bus and make the most of it before settling down and staying local in future.

So I caught the bus around 1pm.  There was only one person on it and only one other person got on after me.  First of all I went to Neil's flat to drop off his shoes and lenses.  Then we both went to the Staithes Cafe to pick up my parcel.  Then - instead of making an extra bus journey  - we decided to walk back to The Metrocentre ( 1.7 miles). I have added an Extra of some of the plants we saw along the way - Sea Buckthorn,Teasel and Rowan. Weather was dry and sunny but very windy - especially near the river.

Then to Zizzi,  Hardly any customers in there.  We had a lovely meal.  I chose white crab & ricotta cannelloni and for pud chocolate brownie with ice cream, white choc curls and warm choc sauce.  Neil had a huge rustica pizza and for pud honeycomb cheesecake. 

Musical link L'Italiano -  by Toto Cutugno

After the meal Neil walked back home and I nipped into Wilkinsons for more bird food.  Might be a while before I get to The Metrocentre again so thought I might as well get a few bags of bird seed and some fat balls while I was there.  Bus home was fairly empty.

Watched Bake Off this evening.

Steps today - 12,736

CORONA CLASSIC - Tarantella Napoletana - Italian Mandolin music by Antonio Calsolaro

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.