WILD WEDNESDAY

When we aren’t going out very much, and this may be our lives for the foreseeable future, finding a photograph every day becomes quite a challenge - which tells me that I need to go out walking again soon so that I will then see something more than our four walls and our garden.

However, today is a dull, dreary and rainy day, and as I still have lots of file sorting and shredding to do, I decided that a quick walk around the garden would have to suffice.  Then I remembered that there was a Wild Wednesday challenge, so it wasn’t difficult to find something that was looking wild in the garden - apart from me!  I had just popped out with no coat and just flip-flops but before long, it was raining quite hard, but I couldn’t be bothered to go back indoors to fetch a coat, so just enjoyed the feel of the rain on my arms and face.

There are plenty of wild places in our garden; the plants in the wild flower beds are sprouting well again and Mr. HCB will have to take his contraptions down soon before they get blown over, especially if we have more high winds.  They are covered with runner bean plants and he says there are lots of runner beans still to come, so he’s going to leave them for a while longer.  The courgettes are still going well, but many of the leaves have powdery mildew, but it doesn’t seem to affect the actual courgettes, thankfully. The tromboncinos, the long squashes are looking good too, so I think we should have another three or four before the winter sets in.  Mr. HCB is in the greenhouse at the moment, pottering about, so no doubt he will be bringing in more ripe tomatoes and perhaps even another cucumber.

However, the wildest things in the garden at the moment are the sunflowers - they have been beautiful and as you may remember, very tall, and this one, which is now past its best, was being buffeted about by the wind and rain.  I thought it looked rather good, even though it is so bedraggled, so played around with the Portrait mode on my iPhone again, and this was the result - a wild-looking sunflower that may look past its best to you, but I think it still looks beautiful.

I’m so glad I went out into the garden and stayed there, even in the rain and found it very relaxing.  Now it’s back to the sorting and shredding.  

“I go to nature 
     to be soothed and healed, 
          and to have my senses 
               put in order.”
John Burroughs

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.