The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Don't leaf me this way

I went back to work today. It was time. All was fine, apart from the twenty five minutes I had to spend mopping and drying a bathroom floor after a child accidentally(?)
flooded it.

After that, I needed to get out into the garden for lunch, to eat my sandwiches among the falling leaves. We have beautiful grounds. At the end of the day, a colleague gave me a lift to town, because I needed to drop off a card order. They done, I rushed to Wetherspoons to meet friend J. I didn't want to be late.

I checked in using the NHS CoVid app for the first time and said I would wait for my friend. At the spotlessly clean table was a sign telling me to download another app to place my order. Hmm. I wasn't sure I could be bothered, so checked my phone instead. Found a message from friend J saying that she couldn't make it!

As I got up to go, a solitary drinker at a table opposite tugged at my coat and begged me to stay. Perhaps I should have offered to stay and read him the Gruffalo...

Instead I Gruffaloed home, via Iceland and a frozen meal, and got thoroughly rained upon into the bargain.
Still, I am alive. I got another card order this evening, too. Yee-harr!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.