Kecksburg UFO

This is the fun thing I teased a few days ago.

On the evening of Dec. 9, 1965, people from Canada to Pennsylvania saw a fiery streak in the sky. It appeared to change directions. It crashed in a ravine near the tiny community of Kecksburg, Pennsylvania, about 30 miles (50 km) southeast of Pittsburgh.

Some people approached the smoking crash site and reported seeing an acorn-shaped object about as big as a VW Beetle. It had writing on the side that one person described as like hieroglyphics. Shortly after the incident, the military came in and closed off the site. A flatbed semi came by and hauled the object away.

I learned about this when I was 7 years old because of an episode of "Unsolved Mysteries" that was largely about this incident. I don't know why, but it stuck with me. I enjoyed seeing it again in reruns and even remembered it when I streamed the entire series a few years ago. When I would stream it, I would look up cases to see if they ever were solved or to see their locations. When doing that, I learned that Kecksburg received the UFO prop from the show and put it on display. After moving to Maryland, I learned that Kecksburg is only about an hour and a half away.

While Jill and I took photos, a car pulled up and two men stepped out. One of them said he was from the area and was around when the incident happened. He was showing his brother-in-law the UFO. They asked me to take their picture. I hope they aren't carrying the virus. I wore a mask, but they did not.

I laughed the whole drive home. It's so amusing to me that 1. The town saved the prop, 2. it's near where I live and 3. I freaking visited it!

The drive was pretty. The leaves are changing at higher elevations, and there are some two-lane roads that wind through hills and trees that I enjoyed. Jill laughs at the "oohs" and "aahs" I make when I see pretty trees. Next time I am asking Jill to drive so I can stare at the trees.

I also learned that Frank Lloyd Wright's famous Fallingwater house is in this area. So that's another road trip we'll have to make.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.