Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

London South Bank

I had planned to visit London today as the weather forecast was good, so I was pleased when it was indeed a sunny and bright day. L the dog sitter arrived to take Xena for a walk and to spend the morning with her. Xena has not seen her since February when L looked after her when we went to Antarctica,  but she certainly has not forgotten her and she went crazy with excitement to see her again. 

I have not been to London all year and up till now I have been nervous to do so, but I realised that life has to carry on in these Coronavirus times and as long as one is sensible we should not stop doing things we enjoy - as that idiot Trump said, we should not be afraid of the virus, but unlike him, I am being careful. The train was very quiet, only a few people were in the carriage and of course all wearing masks and sitting far apart from each other which made me feel quite safe. It is rather nice to be able to put your bags on the seat next to you without someone asking you to remove them as they want to sit there! 

London seemed quiet - I was sad to see quite a few cafes and restaurants around Waterloo with signs saying they were now permanently closed. It was very pleasant to walk along the South Bank in the fresh air. I walked from Waterloo station all the way to Southwark and back again, stopping to take photos as I went along. There was even one rather excellent busker playing music outside the Tate Modern, he was taking requests and even the police on duty were standing in the sunshine enjoying his music. 

If you would like to see more of London here are some extra images.

I really enjoyed my morning in London, and it was a lovely visit. Masks, hand sanitiser and keeping away from others kept me feeling safe.

Thank you so much for the positive response to yesterday's blip of the stag, it is currently sitting high on the popular page.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.