Caorann

Oh rowan tree, oh rowan tree, thoul’t aye be dear to me,
Entwin’d thou art wi’ mony ties, o’ hame and infancy.
Thy leaves were aye the first o’ spring, thy flowr’s the simmer’s pride
There was nae sic a bonnie tree, in all the country side.
Oh rowan tree.


The view from my kitchen window is my rowan tree and it marks the changing of the seasons for me. It alsocomes protective powers: rowans protect you against malevolent spirits (and viruses?).  When I got home in mid April it was coming into leaf.  Then the flowers came out and now it is covered in berries (which the blackbird family seems to love) and the leaves are crisping at the edges.  Soon it will be bare again and I will have to wait another 6 months before it is in leaf again.


Elsewhere today - a bike ride and a swim, then a catch up call with A, delayed from yesterday. That was followed by a long call with K (who I suppose technically is my new boss) which just highlighted the issues that they need to resolve. A quick drive to Minto St to pick up yesterday's purchases.  I realise it may need 4 hands rather than 2, that may be a challenge.  Home via the Manor to drop off more supplies.  


And then home.  It is odd shutting the door knowing that that is it for the day - nowhere to go, no-one to see.  I frittered time until the Wine o'Clockers at 5 and I won the quiz.  It was a fix!  8 questions on capital cities of Australian states and territories.  I couldn't lose, could I?


The rest of the evening was spent in front of the tv - more 'Singapore Grip' and HIGNFY.  I wonder what the town is like tonight?  I suspect deserted. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.