Day Release

It was interesting to do something as radical as going to Edinburgh. The virus infested big city. I had not been there since March. Certainly I have been free to do so since mid-July. 

I drove over, which is not what I would usually do and I suspect I will avoid doing again. Edinburgh drivers are dozy at the best of times, but on Sundays - yes, you guessed - they become Sunday drivers. 

Covidiots on a bus or train are probably less of a risk. 

Lunch was great. We opted for the Mosque Kitchen. Is it a cafe or a restaurant? Well, the alcohol licence will not tell us. They do serve coffee, cake, and ice cream but not Jaffa cakes. 

Junior and I both had their chilli chicken. As usual, it brought tears to our eyes. Then the snot started to drip out of our noses. Absolutely delicious, and £16.40 for the two of us (with pulao rice and drinks). Apart from our snottery noses, the hygiene was fine. I’ll be back, as they say in Austria.

The mosque is in the heart of Edinburgh University’s city centre campus, so the Extras are George Square with university buildings all around, plus the queuing system set up for students to wait for lectures. Hope it’s a dry winter.  

The Mosque Kitchen is very much “no frills”. The Ryanair of Edinburgh’s South Asian cuisine scene. It made me think of this…

Karachi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.