You need a big digger

for big sandcastles, unfortunately this one has seen better days. Spotted on the Teign estuary at low tide when I was Yogi sitting last week.
A back blip to yesterday .. busy busy while the sun was shining.
A few jobs in the greenhouse, first thing, then deadheaded the Cosmos, filled the peanut holder, the birds are showing up in the garden again now it's getting cooler. The pigeons never leave, I've just restricted the landing pad area with some potted plants to brighten up a corner. Took Mum to do her shop, not a job I like doing on a Sunday, too many folks about when I'm trying to help Mum with her shop as well but needs must. Popped into Trago first, picked up another pack of 4 soup bowls at  a bargain £1.49, next a rubberized bath mat for Mum. Made a hasty retreat, we missed the opening queue in & out, so not many at the checkouts. Drat! I forgot to put my camera in the car. I knew exactly what I wanted to snap for Derelict Sunday. Never mind. It's not going anywhere. Coffee & Danish back at Mum's, then home again. L
Mid afternoon, loaded the car up with plant waste for the allotment, dropped that off, hubby had gone to watch the sport in his local for an hour or so so I stayed and worked while the sun was shining. Cut the remainder of the hedge back. The farmer cut his side last week so it's looking lovely. I do like a nice neat field hedge, that and the beautiful straight rows of rubber tree plantations in Thailand. I like most of nature to be higgledly piggledly, with these two exceptions, & topiary obviously. :-) I pulled up the courgette plants, harvested the pathetic call yourself Butternut squash, butternut squash. First time of growing, defo need to get them going earlier next year. Dd a bit of weeding. A fab late afternoon, just myself & one other plot holder up there. I did'nt want to leave but I had arranged to collect a stack of plastic plant trays from a commercial grower that I know.
Then it was Cider, meds, & Countryfile time, followed by dinner, followed by Beeb catch up on two programmes i missed from the night before. Then it was time to hit the sack.

Thanks to Marlieske for hosting Derelict Sunday

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.