About to turn

By jMcLean

Sunlight through a monarch's wings

Thanks for all the love for my 300th blip! I really never foresaw how enjoyable and addictive this site would be - it's great fun and a good daily exercise and connection.

Really delighted to see two monarch butterflies in the late afternoon. They were feeding on the zinnias and a last pink rose. At one point the two spiraled up into the air and did a fluttery dance around each other. This made me so happy...it's really what the garden is for. I'm a little surprised to see them this late, but maybe they still might leave for Mexico. If so, they'd better get a move on...it's been a beautiful golden fall, but that's coming to an end and I don't think they would survive a frost.

The extra was taken on our way up the hill. Unfortunately it had been hit by a car. I think it's a (non-venomous) juvenile corn snake, though it looks similar to a copperhead. Those aren't too common around here, but they're found once in awhile.

Happy (almost) Friday, everyone!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.