Beewriter

By Beewriter

Windermere

‘I want to prepare you for a challenge.’

Karen and Dave run Uswim and Karen wants to get Victoria and I ready for a challenging swim. We are up for it and so we found ourselves waiting on the jetty at Brockholes for them to pick us up in their boat and to ‘plonk’ us in the middle of Windermere.

With Covid restrictions they couldn’t get off the boat onto the jetty but we managed to board and then DQ chugged us out into the middle. The sun was shining. The view was stunning. The company was great. The water....well the water didn’t quite make fourteen degrees. We did two swims which probably added up to a wintery width in the Windermere water. It took a few minutes for me to regulate my breathing, but it was glorious. I wanted to whistle and put my hands over my ears when DQ said the depth was easily seventy five metres deep. (I know Salford Quays is deep but if I tell myself it is twelve foot then I’m happy.)

When I got out my hands seemed to be moving in slow motion as they were numb with cold so getting dressed was a challenge. Once I was layered up and having a hot drink I felt fine though. We moored up by a jetty and had a rather splendid picnic.

After being dropped off at Brockholes we headed into Windermere for a little mooch around before driving home. It was a fun taster for a bigger challenge next time.

I joined a family zoom quiz tonight for Rachel’s birthday.

Happy birthday, little sis x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.