Go back my Lord…

…there's TWO of them."
So ends an antediluvian joke ref:- 
"The hammer o' the Scots".  
I've seen ridiculously few wasps this year; enough to be worried by the lack thereof.  Today Clicky dropped by, en route home after seeing A. N. Other was still "fit and well".  While chatting I spotted a number of wasps taking an inordinate interest in our; brace yourself for a "Gobful" -
'Taxus baccata Fastigiata Aureomarginata' 
"T.baccata 'Fastigiata Aureomarginata' The Golden Irish Yew is a colourful version of the well known 'Fastigiata'. The leaves are edged yellow - the tree is dull gold in Winter. A smaller version is T. baccata 'Standishii'."
Considering it's now, probably, over 10'/3mtr tall, I'm beginning to question the Standishii label it was bought under; "smaller" you say?
:¬ ( )

I saw, at times 3-4 of them all taking interest in the top of the Yew. I thought I saw a "lump" about where I've indicated.  A change of lens showed me what it was, within inches of the topmost twigs; see extra.  I'm wondering if they were nibbling the berries?  Knowing the stones are poisonous I've tasted a berry and spat the stone - YEARS ago, they're quite sweet. 
"There is not a set date that wasps meet their maker, but it happens when the weather turns cold and they simply die from a lack of food."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.