Strawhouse

By strawhouse

Stormy

I took Miss L over to Stony Stratford this morning for a sleepover at Miss E's. The sky got blacker and blacker as got nearer - it was like approaching Mount Doom!
I sold something on eBay last night and coincidentally the woman lived in Pottersbury, a couple of miles from Stony Stratford. I decided to drop it off rather than bother packaging it up and taking it to the post office. 
I wouldn't do it again!!
After a nightmare trying to park on a tiny village lane that was busier than Spaghetti Junction, I rang on the woman's doorbell and apologised that it was a bit random but I was hand delivering her eBay purchase.
She denied all knowledge. And clearly thought I was casing the joint.
I'd left my phone in the car so I said I'd go and check the address. 
Despite knowing the address was right.
She asked had I meant to go to the neighbouring Paulersbury.
Yes because I'm that stupid.
When I eventually got the Paypal transaction open on my phone, I confirmed her name and address and she said, yes in fact she had bought the item. She thought I'd said she'd bought a TV!!!
Which I was holding in my Tesco carrier bag?!
I suppose to be fair to her you don't expect someone to turn up with your eBay purchase the morning after you've bought it!!
She left lovely feedback later on apologising for being confused!
I think next time I'll just leave it to the Royal Mail!
Miss E, Mr K and I watched The Prestige later on which I very much enjoyed. Then it was Strictly.
What a mix of emotions!! I feel like I'm more or less OK with the crazy state of things at the moment and then a fluffy Saturday night entertainment show tips me over the edge!
Happiness that something that I love was back; some normality. Sadness that it wasn't normal and familiar. General unsettledness that it was all a bit weird and different. Crossness with myself for completely overthinking it.
Every now and then something bursts through the denial and reminds me that nothing is how it should be.
Sigh.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.