DEMOLITION

Today was a dry day but very dull and dismal.  The light was already fading when I went out this afternoon to the Co-op.  I decided to do a quick detour on my way there and go past the Comprehensive School.

Over the last few years a new school was built alongside the old and the children gradually moved out of the old school blocks into the new buildings.  Just recently the old buildings have started being demolished.  The noise is constant from early morning until around 5.30pm.  I can hear it from my house which is about a mile away.  Living in the streets around the school must be terrible at the moment with the crashing and thudding of the machinery and all the dust. I took my shot through the metal perimeter fence.  The shot doesn't fit the Wide Wednesday theme of "Animals " but the excavators do seem to look a bit like huge metal creatures. As I took my shot I was lucky to capture a rather nice sky.

Musical link - Vertigo ( Do The DEMOLITION) by Duran Duran

I renewed my Blip membership today for another year.  Money well spent I think.

Covid News - In spite of my local council area of Gateshead being in Tier 2 cases have continued to rise and over the past week there have been 721 new cases recorded. ( 356 covid cases per 100,000 people )There are a few " hot spots " but fortunately my own village is not one of them.

Steps today - 8,253

CORONA CLASSIC - Soul Bossa Nova by Quincy Jones

Another for Black History Month.  Quincy Delight Jones Jr. (born1933) is an American record producer, multi-instrumentalist, songwriter, composer, arranger, and film and television producer. His career spans over 60 years in the entertainment industry with a record 80 Grammy Award nominations, 28 Grammys, and a Grammy Legend Award in 1992.

Jones came to prominence in the 1950s as a jazz arranger and conductor, before moving on to work in pop music and film scores.  He was the producer, with Michael Jackson, of Jackson's albums Off the Wall (1979), Thriller (1982), and Bad (1987), as well as the producer and conductor of the 1985 charity song "We Are the World", which raised funds for victims of famine in Ethiopia. In 2013, Jones was inducted into the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame  He was named one of the most influential jazz musicians of the 20th century by Time magazine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.