Lolloping

Bounding towards me from a distance, coolly munching grass, preening occasionally and just looking gorgeous this young leveret amused me for some time.

I stopped the car in the middle of the country lane, got out the long lens and took about 200 shots. I did check them - the colour was fine, the speed was fine and I was rock steady balancing the lens hood on the dashboard. What I failed to take into account was the curved glass of the windscreen which when I examined everything later had almost double focused the picture and all the really cute little shots were just rubbish. This I think is the downside of contact lens wearing or at least of me wearing contact lenses for close up camera work. Luckily I switched cameras and lent out of the window occasionally as he came closer and then wandered under the car. Even the engine start up didn't spook him too much but I feel he really needed to be in the field rather than the road edge.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.