Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Sunset over the river

It has been a busy day - it started foggy and frosty again this morning, but it lifted quickly so by the time I took Xena out for her walk it was sunny. Straight after the walk we went to the vet for Xena's stitches to be removed, which all went well. The vet was very busy and as you have to phone on arrival and wait in the car until the nurse comes to collect your pet, you don't get to speak to the vet unless it is something important. I heard of a case where a dog had to be put down and the distraught elderly owner had to stand outside the practice as is the norm in these Covid times while it was done, and could not even be there to say goodbye in the final moments, which is just awful. 

Back home, Gavin Luke and I walked up the road to get a take away coffee - while our coffee at home is excellent it is more a case of forcing both Gavin and Luke to get a break and fresh air as they tend to work all day and not even go outside.

After lunch I had an optician appointment for my annual checkup, but as I have been getting headaches lately they did the fully comprehensive test with eye scans and all sorts of other things - it took over an hour. It is not easy having your eyes tested while wearing a mask as the lenses kept fogging up so you have to be careful you don't have inaccurate results. My prescription has changed quite a bit, so also I need new lenses. Such is the state of my eyes that I currently have three pairs of glasses, one for reading, one for computer work and one pair of varifocals for my astigmatism and mild short sightedness. As all my lenses needed changing it was recommended to get a replacement pair of varifocals and another pair of a kind of varifocal that will work for both reading and my computer work. It took ages to get those lenses worked out and then I chose a new frame too, as mine are very old - which turned out to be necessary as in these Covid times it takes about 2-4 weeks to get new glasses made up and I cannot do without my reading glasses so getting new frames meant I can still use my old pair until I get the new ones. I think I have been influenced by Prue Leith on GBBO as I chose a very colourful pair of frames!

By the time I finished at the optician it was almost sunset so I drove the short distance down the road from the village to see the sun setting over the river. As I had no tripod or filters with me I balanced the camera on the bridge rail and took a bracketed set of 3 shots which I later combined in Photoshop to get the right exposures. 

And so it is the weekend again - before I can relax with my Friday night glass of prosecco I have so much ironing to do so I have better get on with it. Take away Italian again tonight so I thankfully don't need to cook.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.