DECORATING OR SOUP MAKING?

That was my dilemma this morning - and soup making won the day, mainly because I woke up with a very painful middle finger on my right hand - the one that triggers and for which I had an injection back in January.  It had woken me several times in the night, so I decided that it might be a good idea to leave the decorating of my Quiet Room until I wasn’t in so much pain.

When our Waitrose order came, I realised that I had rather a lot of broccoli and thought that some Broccoli and Blue Cheese soup would go down quite well, so I gathered the ingredients together.  The green leaves at the front are from the outside of the cauliflower - they were too good to throw away, not that I do that anyway, I tend to use them most of the time.

As I got the soup maker out, I thought of my Mum, who bought it for us for Christmas last year - well, she didn’t actually buy it, my sister did - but Mum paid for it and we didn’t mind having a joint present.  I have used it many times and I have to say that in 21 minutes it produces the most delicious soup.  The worktop saver it’s standing on belonged to Mum, so I was thinking of when I used to go round and get her some lunch and sit with her, particularly on a Sunday, when she liked to watch Songs of Praise.  I’m not sure Mum would have liked this soup, especially if she knew it had blue cheese and garlic in it - she wasn’t a fussy eater as such, more that she knew what she liked and what she didn’t like - and told us in no uncertain terms.

When the soup was finished, I decided to go out for a walk, but thought it would be best to stay on paths, rather than going over to my field, because the grass over there is quite long and we have had quite a lot of rain - it was very enjoyable and I got back home just before the rain started, which was good.  I have still only done 5,000 steps, but that’s good for me, so I’m not going to beat myself up because it’s not 10K.

I hope my finger won’t be quite so painful tomorrow because I really need to get on with the decorating - so watch this space.

“To live in hearts 
     we leave behind
          is not to die.”
Thomas Campbell

The joys of today:
§ Enjoying Autumn in all its glory
§ Listening to worship music as I walked
§ Having a warming bowl of delicious soup when I got home

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.