Beneath Biscay

By Douglian

Drive through

Passing the queue at the drive-through Covid-19 testing station on the way home from the hospital, where I had an appointment for an MRI scan. Checking for woodworm in amongst the cobwebs ;-)

I must admit I was slightly apprehensive about going to the hospital given that it has been almost overwhelmed with Covid-19 for the past few weeks. I saw the temporary army field hospital in the car park that was put up in a hurry a couple of weeks ago. Nevertheless I think it's important to keep appointments when offered. Otherwise it will just add to the inevitable backlog of cases to be dealt with after the Covid-19 emergency is brought under control. By then I'm sure most health car  workers will be in desperate need of a well earned rest.

In fact it was well organised. As soon as I went in the main entrance I was greeted by somebody who took my temperature and gave me hand gel. They then took me to a machine into which I inserted my health service card. It issued a ticket with my appointment time, ten minutes hence on it. I then followed the green line of the floor to the radiology department reception, sat down to wait for two or three minutes then I was called in. 

All very efficient and nobody loitering anywhere.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.