fotoflarewithclare

By tookie

armistice Day...Day of Remembrance

Today is Armistice Day in the USA remembering lives lost in wars. Paying tribute to the many men and women who served both by being drafted or enlistment.
My Dad was a WWII vet who was stationed in France . He drove supply trucks. He also ran projectors and did hair cuts which he continued by cutting my brothers hair—I refused to let him do mine lol. My Aunt Emily’s life partner Alberta served as a Wave in the same war. I have her medals. My uncle Karel was a wartime photographer using a large format camera. He did warn family members that some of his photos that were to be published in newspapers were from Auschwitz and horrific.
I have several letters that were from my Dad and uncle to my mom . My Dad never talked much about those years except to say the French people were very kind to him. My Uncle said in his letters that “war is Hell”.
We pay tribute to our many fallen today

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.