Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Dark...

Every fall the Dark-eyed Juncos return to their winter grounds, which includes New Jersey.  The sound of their trill fills the air as they flit about eating seeds.  They are actually members of the sparrow family and have six fairly distinctive color variants geographically distributed in the US.  Ours here in Nj are the "slate colored" variant.  They appear somewhat drab at first but when you start looking more closely you can see a lot of richness in the tones of gray and brown  

It was beautiful out this morning, so after an early trip to the grocery store to pick up what I need for Thanksgiving, I spent some time in the garden enjoying the birds and squirrels and sunshine.  Very restorative.  Then I had a couple of phone calls with friends.  Then back into town to pick up a free frozen turkey that we'd earned through our grocery purchases, which I then promptly dropped off at a food pantry delivery center.  I wouldn't have bothered to claim the "free" turkey except that I wanted to be able to donate it so that someone less fortunate than me can enjoy a nice turkey dinner.  

Hubs and his team only got about 1/3 of the way through the 14 hour race before the car stopped working.  At least Hubs had a good run before everything went sideways.  They spent a few hours working on the car before giving up.  And because it's nearly dark now, Hubs decided to just stay there tonight rather than try to drive the RV 3 hours in the dark.  Good decision.  

As for me, I am going to have my favorite "bachelorette" dinner of popcorn with pepper and parmesan.  Trust me, its delicious.  And it goes so well with a glass of red wine...again, trust me.

Be safe out there, people.  And kind...

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.