Fennel at Dawn

Everything, including the trees, is wilting again. Rain was predicted for today. The southerly freshened and the clouds lowered, but no rain so far.

I'm still rather tired after yesterday's trip to town and put most of my energy into getting in the plants I bought. I have decided to abandon my main vegetable plot for now. It is too riddled with twitch grass (couch, Elytrigia repens) and clearing it yet again is beyond me. Over the years it has taken so much sweat and tears. One year my son and I sieved every grain of it down to about 30cms, but to no avail. A radical treatment is called for, either repeated applications of weedkiller, or covering the whole area with black polythene for 18 months.

Meanwhile I'm planting out in containers. I have a lot of big pots, along with the ready-to-use bokashi compost and a heap of bought compost that was destined for the abandoned plot. I prepared ten pots and planted pak choi, brocolli, silver beet, and lettuces, with little sweet alyssum plants scattered among them.

The seeds I sowed in an open plot, as well as in pots last week are all making a show, some very well.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.