The Way I See Things

By JDO

Playtime

If photography means 'drawing with light', I feel there should be another word for playing with light, but I'm no Greek scholar, and I can't construct one. I'm sure you get what I'm saying though: this photo isn't meant to be a record of its ostensible subject, but is all about the light reflecting off the water. I'm grateful to the gull though, for having swum through the reflection and broken it up into these patterns, and for providing my image with a focal point.

If you've been keeping an eye on my daily nonsense for any length of time, you may remember that I've posted something quite similar before - but that's the beauty of photographing water: change the light, change the angle, or change the amount of movement of the water, and what you get may be recognisably similar, but it's never going to be exactly the same.

That's my story, and I'm sticking to it.

Part of me thinks that this might be a little extreme, because the sun today was low and bright, and painted the water and the bird quite strongly. But when I tried flattening it down in post I ended up with something that was quite... flat, and there didn't seem much point in doing that. So I've decided to post it as shot, in celebration of a glorious winter afternoon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.