Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

The Village Shop

Our village shop is especially popular on a Saturday morning. I walked past on my way to deliver Christmas cards for Mum. (This is the person who was not going to do cards this year - except in the village and to people who are not on email!) It was pouring.

It did give me the opportunity I wanted, to photograph a queue outside the shop. Only one umbrella, but beggars can't be choosers. Perhaps I'll get one in the snow before the pandemic is over.

We sat down to watch A Christmas Carol from the Old Vic at 1pm today. Except we have tickets for Friday 18th. Ho hum.

Instead, we watched the new Roger Jones musical, The Three Camels, made on Zoom in lockdown. The subtitles were hopeless. If more than one person sang, the word Music came up, so Mum (and I) could not make out all the words. The camels were funny and it was a good attempt to produce a musical in lockdown.

Then we watched the Haydon Bridge Christmas video, made by our friends, the Bell family. (Hannah was here looking after us in August when I had my operation.) Here is the YouTube link

The family made this in three different houses because they are observing Covid rules. We laughed and laughed. It is not for the Christmas carol purist, but do watch out for the appearance of the Beatles.

I'm cooking a sausage casserole, fingers crossed it is tasty. Then we might settle down to some TV. Not sure yet.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.