Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Last one... honestly!

Hello. My name is GadgetKid and I am a Malloholic.

Except I'm not really. Oh no. "Denial. First thing to overcome," I hear aprecious say!!!

After 7 days in a row a week of blipping various shopping centres in this crazy city I live in, Jellyfox - my faithful blip friend said I just COULD NOT leave out Ibn Battuta Mall, so, as her car needed a long run, we headed out towards Jebel Ali (yes - it is that far) to this very unique and architecturally stunning mall!

My picture is of the themed feature in India Court. Ibn Battuta has 6 very distinct "courts" and the mall itself is a sight to see, leave alone getting any retail therapy. Ibn BaTtuta was a 14th Century Arab explorer who traversed lands from the Northwest of Africa, all the way to China. The Malls' 6 unique archiectural sections are Andalusia, Tunisia, Egypt, Persia, India and China. It is not multi-level so sprawls out over hundreds of feet.

This is the domed ceiling in the Persia section.
A bit more on Ibn Battuta himself.

A bit of a feast for the eyes really with its very unique decor.

We had to pop into Mercato on the way back to pick up a couple of things... AND... guess what - got asked by a Security Guard if the pictures I was taking were for my own personal use. "Yes of course" was my very prompt answer. Worked it out - I have only ever been questioned when I've had my DSLR... so that's the culprit! Over and out with this mall theme now... thanks for your patience.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.