BLACK(?) Garlic

…update.

(Later insert - both from same source. 
Black as loose cloves.  
Brown as a whole Bulb)

I'm getting nearer, and learning more.  The last batch I made "wet" and put some water in the bottom of the Slow cooker. Then almost sealed it with Sticky tape. 
Result(s):- 
1. Much higher humidity.  As a result:-
2. None almost none of it went hard and dry; and it very nearly tasted right.
Found another web site saying:-
"There is no mystery to the creation of black garlic.  Just moderate heat and time will convert a fresh head of garlic into this creamy black concoction.  Maintaining garlic at 140 °F / 60 °C for about 4 weeks (while ensuring that the garlic does not dry out) will produce excellent results.  Think of it as an extra long and slow roasting process. The Folding Proofer provides the ideal environment for making black garlic."  
Most of which i knew, but hadn't seen the don't let dry aspect.
NOT that I have a "Folding Proofer", but the Slow Cooker never gets above about 62-3˚C so "Otter" to be OK.
3. a) Decided to be less impatient.
3. b) After receiving some, decidedly, brown black Garlic; which tasted every bit as good - so - If I give them the full four weeks that s/he did before next check.  
All I need now is some more Garlic.
IF/when I ever perfect it I'll then graduate to a full Crock-Pot; but until then it'll be no more than 1/2 a Doz. per sitting.
* ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ *
Extra - using up an excess extra.  We had this problem when I was a school lab Tech too; you couldn't carry over any £ $ € ¥ until the next financial year - PLUS - if you vastly under-spent budget was docked, resulting in a mad spending spree towards financial year end.  I decided to fuel up, just in case, before the onset of the Festering Season and the card contactless has been upped from £30 to £45 allowing me to fill the tank. I was about to pay contactless and use my fiver for the sweets when she said to stick it in and key the number so I put my "impulse buy" on the card as well.  
I suppose 200gm is logical, but I tend to still think in mixed terms:-
1lb ≈ 454gm SO - logic suggests 450 makes sense - but some have upped to 500gm, whereas honey has, almost universally dropped to an unusual 340gm but ≈ 3/4 lb (WHY when I'm looking for a pound by ANY name.)
4 oz is 113.4gm which could as easy be 100 or 150 
but no - 200gm ≈7.05gm
1/2lb ≈ 227gm. Why NOT make it 225gm?  A nice, sensible size.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.