Capital adventures

By marchmont

Merry Christmas!

Started the day with an odd Zoom to KL.  They were sitting at the table starting their Christmas dinner, so didn't get much info out of them.  Later I was sent some pictures of the present opening.  Looked like it was the usual chaos!

Then it was time to get the meal ready.  I have never had Christmas lunch so there is plenty of time to get the meal ready for Christmas dinner at 4 p.m. Not too much work and the main thing was making the salmon en croute.  However, it was still quite a lot so plenty of toing and froing in the kitchen.  The table was set last night so there was time to sit down around midday write down the menu (so I don't forget anything) and the timings. Even managed to watch a bit of 'Singing in the Rain' and 'Some Like it Hot' - great films! The last time I had Christmas dinner in this house and therefore cooked was 2014, when the family were here.  Since then I've mainly been at the flat, after Crisis at Christmas or of course last year in Malaysia.

Got changed and made myself look Christmassy and prepared for the arrival pf the guests.  They were bang on time and we sat in the front beside the tree and opened our stockings and then had a family Zoom with J & D in France (where there was snow), D & A in Troon (they'd been for a walk along the beach and and #1 niece in Ryton. #1 son didn't join us as everyone was asleep.  Then the opening of the presents.  I got quite a bit of alcohol - Harris gin, Armagnac (that takes me to 2 and a half bottles and small bottles of fizz and amaretto infused gin. 

Then to the main event - dinner.  It went very well.  I did attempt to follow the advice of plenty ventilation but was told it was too cold, so the curtains were closed. Turned out 1 pheasant would have sufficed but better to much than too little.  And I now know #3 son doesn't like prunes, shame as his dessert had prunes in it but he was very well behaved.  Then a couple of games, including the devilishly confusing Dr Who version of Cluedo. and then the return taxi arrived and off home they went.

I watched most of 'Call the Midwife' and not much else.  And then it was time for bed.  My first pandemic Christmas, hopefully my last. Extras are of present opening and the table before we ate. 

Visitors - 3
F2F - 3
Phone calls - 0
Virtual - 2

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.