TINY TUESDAY - WINTER HAS ARRIVED!

I wasn’t up quite as early this morning and when I peeped out through the bedroom curtains, I could see that we had had a very light sprinkling of snow - not enough for Mr. HCB but plenty for me.

I decided I wouldn’t go out for an early walk though because the last thing I want to do is slip on the icy pavements, so I just popped out into the garden and found a few tiny things out there.  

The ice was quite thick in the bird bath, where a leaf was trapped and another leaf looked pretty on our glass table.  As I walked along the new gravel path, I noticed a little cyclamen bravely flowering in one of the new pots and then I saw one of the tiny violas, so I decided to make a collage of them.  There was even one of Mr. HCB’s carnations blooming, which I have put in as an extra.  Mr. HCB is hoping that this isn’t the only snow we see, but I’m quite happy with this little dusting.

We then decided it might be a good day to defrost the freezer and sort it out, so armed with a hairdryer and a scraper, we started - well, I held the hairdryer and Mr. HCB scraped - and there was a lot of ice to scrape.  I don’t know why we let it get so bad, but it’s good to know it’s done; I now know exactly what’s in there and have my list on the door, so feeling quite organised.

The sun came out briefly, but has now disappeared, so I think we shall stay indoors today - Mr. HCB will no doubt be doing more of one of his Wentworth jigsaw puzzles and I will do some knitting.  The chocolate has been moved to a high shelf in the hall cupboard, so I need to do something to keep my hands busy.  

“If Winter comes, 
     can Spring be far behind?”
Percy Bysshe Shelley - Ode to the West Wind

P.S.  Huge thanks to everyone who put my 2920th Blip at the top of the Popular page - I was so grateful to read all your kind comments and to receive the stars and hearts - as was Mr. HCB - with love to you all - keep well and stay safe.  M xx 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.