Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Farewell 2020

I'm typing this in the first 20 minutes of 2021... I'm sure we are all glad to say goodbye to 2020 - a year in which we hoped for so much positive change but got Coronavirus and so much more instead. It wasn't all bad though. In many ways, I feel a much needed "reset" took place and we will eventually be better off for it. May I take this opportunity to wish all my blip friends joy, peace and the best for 2021. :))

The day started with the doorbell going at 8 am. It was the workmen!! Thankfully, they were not here long and did what was needed in fixing a leaking valve and a tap that doesn't work. They cleared up after themselves really well. I finished off the bits that needed and both G & I were able to shower in our respective bathrooms. Life is back to normal!

As the morning was so disrupted, I took the opportunity to put some things right like linking the subwoofer to the soundbar again and setting up the WiFi repeater.

We went out around sunset - to check the post box and collect some parcels. The post office closed early today for year-end auditing, so we drove around the old souk area on a route we often take to see what changes have happened. G captured this shot as we headed back home. The Burj Khalifa is the focal point of NYE celebrations in Dubai with the Police getting more efficient with managing the celebrations.

We had fun at T@3 trying out the backgrounds and video filters on Zoom!! That was the day.

G wants to stay up to see 2021 when it comes to London's turn... I've suggested camping out in the living room! We toasted the new year with the last bottle of Veuve Cliquot from my 50th! :))

And that's my last extra used up for the year!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.