Strawhouse

By strawhouse

Green Zone!

16.12.20
One thing I didn’t mention the other day in my in depth explanation of how your Tesco order appears at your doorstep was the performance indicator on the scanner. The bar at the top with the green section shows how quickly the picker (me) is getting through the current order. For the most part mine shows red (the first bar starts off and stays firmly in the red!), very occasionally amber lights up briefly (until I end up scanning twenty five different varieties of bacon until I find the right one and it goes back to red) Even more occasionally I get into the green zone - whoop whoop! - when they don’t want the stupid tray liners (which take ages to put in each tray and mean you’re miles behind before you even start. Small things cheer me up at work and the sight of NB on the tray rather than B makes my heart sing. And as for the Holy Grail of all six trays being labelled NB, well......) and everything has been easy to find and they’ve had a fair few multiples which mean you can scan many items at once and appear super fast!
Best of all - and it’s only happened a handful of times - is the Blue Zone. When there are no bags required, no bacon (or meat in general which you have to put in the fiddly red bags), fewer items and lots of multiples. Yesterday someone had ordered thirty one Lindt Santas. Into the tray they went and then I scanned one thirty one times. From red to blue, just like that!!!!!
And I get free tea and toast. What’s not to love?!!
Finished at 1.30pm today. The days are getting longer. God knows what it’ll be like next week.
The estate agent called when I got home wanting a guarantee for the damp proof work we had done 18 months ago. Naturally we could find the quote, the invoice and the receipt but no guarantee.
Mr K, in an uncharacteristic burst of efficiency, called the company and asked for a copy. Amazingly it came immediately and I sent it on to the estate agent.
Apparently feedback from viewings is that it seems damp. The plaster hanging off the wall probably doesn’t help. Sigh.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.