Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Gotcha!!

Here's something I've never seen before - a completely leucistic Dark-eyed Junco.  It first showed up on New Year's eve day - completely shocking me.  Since then, I've seen it several times and have been patiently waiting to get a good shot of it.  And, bingo, I hadn't been in the hide more than 20 minutes when it showed up right in front of me - not 7 feet away!  I will put a shot of a normally colored bird of this species in Extra for comparison.  

Over the years, I've seen a few partially leucistic birds, but never one that was totally lacking in pigment.  Such a startling thing to see, but also feels quite special.  I'm adding him to my 2021 yardbird list, and will later add a normally plumed junco.

And if you are wondering, Wikipedia defines Leucism as "a wide variety of conditions which result in the partial loss of pigmentation in an animal—which causes white, pale, or patchy coloration of the skin, hair, feathers, scales or cuticles, but not the eyes".  This is different than albinism which is a complete lack of pigment and results in pink eyes.

Meanwhile, things in the Georgia Senate runoff are looking good.  Mr. Warnock has been declared the winner in one race, making him the first Black American to represent the state of Georgia in the Senate.  And at this point, the second race is too close to call although it looks good for the Dems.  Keeping fingers and toes all crossed.

Everyone here still awaiting covid test results, but all feeling fine.  Fingers and toes crossed on that account too.  


Another cold and blustery day here in northern New Jersey.  Good stay to stay close to the fire.  I plan to watch some of the Senate shenanigans this afternoon.  I never turn the television on during the day, but will make an exception in this case.  January 20th can't come soon enough.


You know the drill - stay safe, stay six feet away from people, wear a mask, wash your hands and, above all, be kind!  I've got the chocolate covered...


xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.