SNOWBIRD

Beneath this snowy mantle cold and clean
The unborn grass lies waiting
For its coat to turn to green
The snowbird sings the song he always sings
And speaks to me of flowers
That will bloom again in spring


Snowbird


This is Andy Williams' version of this well known song.

Yesterday was a day of adventures for me.  I was amazed at how much traffic there was, we are in lockdown so I thought there would only be delivery vehicles and a few cars, but it was extremely busy.

There seemed to be an awful lot of people about for lockdown and a really cold dreich day too.  Still I got over to Mums OK, then it started snowing heavily!!!  Still not too bad.  She had her vaccination OK and said it was very well organised.  So far her arm is a bit sore but that is all!!  
I didn't stay any longer due to the snow.  The traffic at 4.45pm was like any normal Friday!!!!!  The M6 was fine after Carnforth - a lot of traffic but well spaced.  However when I got onto the A590 near The Villa it was snowing heavily and it was dark by now.  It was sooo scary.  Windscreen wipers on full the snow was settling on the sides of the road quite deeply (or so it seemed).  Everyone was very good and kept their distances and speeds down (well most did anyway).  Then I left onto the B5271 for Grange.  Still snowing heavily and it was settling on the road too, so felt a little icy.  Everyone was keeping low speeds.

Then I got to Grange and it had stopped snowing.  Quite a bit snow around but not too bad, it was like being in a different world.  Our little side road was icy but OK.  That was it.  I'd got home - yeah. 

Now today the sun is shining, snowy scenes around but only a covering.  

I was looking out the window this morning and this bird was on a neighbour's shed roof surveying her scene and she stayed for a quite a while so, blip for the day I thought!!!  A female blackbird I think all fluiffed up with her winter coat on.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.