Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Figgy pudding

No, I haven't really gone back to Christmas, but I bought these rather dry little figs yesterday for a still life, and then, as I was flipping through the 'Oxford Book of Christmas Poems', came across this wonderful New Year thank you letter from the Roman 1st century AD poet Martial (Marcus Varierius Martialis).  I couldn't resist sharing it with you..

For New Year, Postumus, ten years ago,
You sent me four pounds of good silver-plate.
The next year, hoping for a rise in weight
(For gifts should either stay the same or grow),
I got two pounds.  The third and fourth produced
Inferior presents, and the fifth year weighed
Only a pound - Septicius' work, ill-made
Into the bargain.  Next I was reduced
To an eight-ounce oblong salad-platter; soon
It was a miniature cup that tipped the scales
At even less.  A tiny two-ounce spoon
Was the eighth year's surprise.  The ninth, at length,
And grudgingly, disgorged a pick for snails
Lighter than a needle.  Now, I note, the tenth
Has come and gone with nothing in its train.
I miss the old four pounds.  Let's start again!

It was translated by James Michie.  Fabulous!

Okay, that's me.  Hope your week's going well.  Stay safe, lovely blippers.  xx

PS: Blue skies still woefully lacking

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.