Paladian

By Paladian

It's all mine, I tell you

And I was quite happy that this enormous mantis was not about to share.

This is Big Daddy, and I thought he'd left us, but so such luck - there he was yesterday afternoon. The first thing I saw this morning was him casually munching on a honey bee.

This was afternoon tea, poor little grasshopper.

I also saw 4 of the mantid's children out hunting, one female and 3 males. I suspect the little female will get eaten if her siblings get too hungry. She's not putting on size like the boys. How do I know the difference? She is green, the boys are brown. She's also much smaller. Late yesterday afternoon I found a tiny mantid exoskeleton, so I know they are growing.

If you really want to see the gruesome details.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.