The second half of life..

By twigs

Another day in Paradise

A one-out-of-the-box day today.  Stunning.

Left my beautiful, peaceful beach-side camping spot around 10.00am.  The sun was already beginning to beat it's rays on the land and it wasn't long until any form of movement brought forth a heavy sweat.  The vague plan for the day was to head to Martinborough to (finally!) attend to the van domestics......dump station and fresh water...then up the road  an hour to the Pukaha National Wildlife Centre.  

This is why I don't make plans on holiday.....

I was barely 5 minutes down the road, enjoying the most stunning blue skies, blue seas and blazing sunshine when the opportunity presented itself and I pulled over for a photo or two.  During this stop I simply sat and enjoyed the sunshine and the views, tried a few slow shutter speed water shots and one or two shots.  I also noticed a few cormorants kept flying by and when I took more notice, it became apparent that they were consistently returning to tree a bit further along the road.  Sensing an opportunity for an 'undercarriage' shot of one approaching the tree, I drove a bit further along, sat under their tree and waited......

It was during this wait that I glimpsed what appeared to be a splash further out in the bay.  I watched more intently and sure enough, another splash, then another.  With a long lens attached to the camera I used it as a binocular to see what was going on and sure enough, there was a pod of dolphins (extras) enjoying some playtime.  Of course, I just sat and watched, totally engrossed in the opportune sighting.

At some point I decided I should get moving and enjoyed a lovely but stinking hot drive to Martinborough via some gorgeous settlements including the beautiful Burnside Church (extras) in Pirinoa.   In Martinborough it was even hotter.......dump station chores were attended to and a little grocery shopping done where the check-out lady told me it was currently 33 degrees in town and heading for hotter tomorrow.  No wonder it was so uncomfortable!  During the return drive I also became very frustrated by an odd noise from the van that grew and grew.  Turned out to be a 'temporary' repair I'd had done last summer (!) involving some sticky tape holding part of the windscreen together (not as bad as it sounds, I promise) was coming unstuck. Whilst in Martinborough I took the opportunity to seek out a garage for advice.  They pointed me to a panel beater who said it'll take half an hour but you'll have to come back first thing tomorrow.  Nothing for it then but to find a campsite nearby and sit still in the shade with a nice cool drink. 

Great day, even if it was uncomfortably hot.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.