The second half of life..

By twigs

Kereru gathering

Lake Waikaremoana, Uruwera National Park
Waitangi Day, but more significant for me now, it's 5 years today since we lost mum. I can hardly believe it's that long, maybe because she's always with me, popping into my thoughts, something that reminds me of her, something we did together, something we talked about or something she said.  And so it was today - I still miss her so very much.
I woke at 6.30.....wide awake instantly.  I was considering what I might do today (given I could hear light rain falling) and somehow whilst I was lying there thinking about things, the clock leaped forward two and a half hours!  I do seem to have mum's ability to fall asleep at the drop of a hat.  The morning became van bound as I waited for the wetness to abate but by mid-afternoon I was feeling the need to get out and stretch the legs.  Decided on a short walk round the wee bay where the campground lies to see if I could scope out some nice views of the misty lake but alas nothing that really grabbed me.  These were pretty much the only shots I took......the kereru (Kev's cuzzies!) were abundant, the ferns also abundant and the mist in the hills....well.... this is the Urewera National Park which is often shrouded in mist.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.