Kendall is here

By kendallishere

The end

This portrait of M'e MaNthabiseng is one of my favorites, and it comes from the last set of old black and white negatives I've been scanning. It was used for the cover of a collection I edited, called Basali: Stories by and about Women in Lesotho (KwaZulu-Natal Press, 1995, now out of print). 

I am posting it on February 19, 2021, along with a couple of extras that I particularly love. The second Extra is of M'e Mpho Nthunya (right) and her daughter-in-law, made while M'e Mpho was dictating her memoir to me. Her memoir is Singing Away the Hunger, and it was published in South Africa, the UK, and the USA and is still in print in the USA. I have posted a collection of these scanned negatives on Instagram:  https://www.instagram.com/portraits_of_change/

My gratitude to all of you who have encouraged me to continue the work of telling the History of the World from my perspective. The work continues, but I am going to take a weekend break now that I've finished the scanning.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.