Creativity out of adversity

Y can't I remember what these words are saying, Why can't I make these words stay still, Why do these words blur and swirl,
I'm concentrating I'm working as hard as I can, My head is hurting but I just don't get what the words say you know,
get it but then it's gone. I can't understand it, what's wrong with me, Everybody else seems to get it, Is it only me.


I don't know whether the Dyslexia Centre was part of the very successful reading recovery programme developed in New Zealand that I heard about a few years ago but this and other sculptures in its enthralling front garden deserve to be seen. The building is now structurally unstable and occupied only by construction workers but the 'dyslexia discovery exhibit' continues to communicate the difficulties faced by those with dyslexia and to draw attention to their often-overlooked talents.

I spent the rest of my last few hours in Christchurch discovering some of the work of the 'Gap-filler' project: a superb plant-laden outdoor 'events pavilion' built by volunteers using blue-painted pallets for walls and orange crates for seats, an oversized 'pegboard' with tools and household items painted on, a street chess set recovered from now-inaccessible Cathedral Square, wildflower gardens, a pop-up café with tables made of bricks and lintels painted in bright colours...

I so admire what people are doing here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.