EvelyneNaylorC

By EvelyneNC

Mimosas are blooming

Which surprises me. Our day time max temperatures hover around 48 F, Frosty nights are just 9 days over.
I saw these blooming in New Zealand which has a more Mediterranean climate and, of course, at the Mediterranean Coast. They were my mothers favorite flowers and my father went to great lengths to buy some for her birthday on February 19, even when we lived in Holland in the fifties and the early sixties. In those days it wasn’t as easy as it is now to buy flowers in winter.

So now I cut them from some trees here at the Oregon coast. I never thought I would find these trees here in the wild.
But I love them as they make me think of my mom! She would have been 99 this year.

Little excursion to Eugene today.
An extra showing the Siuslaw River At low tide.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.